When the grass is greener on the other side…….


When I heard that a good friend of mine has just bought another property overseas (and yes, she is indeed very successful and rich single parent), all of these sorts of comments started to appear on my mind. Wow, she’s so lucky! Geez, she’s incessantly producing and having money, yet I am practically crawling on my monthly salary! Why are some people so lucky with their finance while I’m struggling with my financial problem? No pain no gain, yet to some people, no pain and stil gain.

Yes, these comments are usual and they tend to be negative, or even contain the element of envy. To be honest, it’s been bothering me a bit to learn about that friend of mine’s success story. Another friend is having holiday in the most perfect island to have holiday. Wow, what a life! These wonderful things that happen to others, don’t they tempt you to exclaim “Whatta life!” and then ask “Am I the only one whose life is miserable?”

Well, even when we’re changing our way of life to more of Christ, there are times when we just can’t resist the temptation of being envious. And this is what’s been happening to me lately. It bothers me. So, this morning I did my personal session of Praise and Worship. It was hard to start it coz’ I felt so lazy (yes, the evil always hates to see you get close to Jesus!) But I prayed and asked God to guide me in my weakness. So I did it and it turned out to be amazing. God knows the deepest of our heart. God knows the answer to your mind, to what’s been bothering you. As I sang songs of praise and worship, I was reminded by the power of the Holy Spirit that there’s no need for me to have this envy for my friend’s success or financial triumph or for the glamorous life of another friend! I was reminded that I have two kids that I could bring up despite my financial struggle, in spite of being a single parent for the past 9 years and my kids turn out to be OK! I was also reminded that the happiest people are those who need the least!
During my personal session of Praise and Worship, I was reminded with a question. Have you thanked God for everything you’ve been blessed with? I answered yes. Have you thanked God for everything your friends been blessed abundantly with? I answered never! Wow, it got me realised, I have never done that in my entire life! Thanking God for all the material blessings He has given to my rich friends or prosperous relatives seems too hard to be done, not to mention impossible!
But today, I did it! Well, it wasn’t me who did it! It was, It has been, it is and it will always be the power of the Holy Spirit that guides me to do it, to pray to the Lord Jesus Christ and to thank Him for all the blessings He has given to my friends and relatives who are richer, happier and more prosperous than I am…
And The Holy Spirit has also guided me to pray for my friends and relatives, may God bless them with more and more blessings.. It is The Holy Spirit that guides me to feel the happiness of seeing the wonderful, financially secure life of friends of mine! What a wonderful feeling to be enable to do those…we are not only praying for our struggle or those who are less fortunate but we are also praying for those who have prosperity and wealth are more fortunate! And it’s the most beautiful lesson I learn today from God… Yes, we thank God for His blessings but we also must thank God for the blessings to others especially those we tend to have envy over the happiness or blessings they have.

So I know that when the grass is greener on the other side, it is time for us to thank the Lord for making it greener!

Praise to You, Lord Jesus Christ!

Matthew 5: 43-48

Eye for Eye

38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’39 But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40 And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well. 41 If anyone forces you to go one mile, go with them two miles. 42 Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.

Love for Enemies

43 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? 48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

