The joy of reading the bible, listening to the Word of God


Is there anything in this whole world that could be more wonderful, beautiful and healing than the Word of God?

I am more than blessed everyday I am given a new day because it gives me time to read the bible. And since I am catholic, I read it according to our universal liturgical calendar.

About a month ago -or it could be two months ago- a friend of mine invited me to join a blackberry messenger (BBM)group specifically to motivate members to read the gospel of Jesus according to Matthew. I was inclined at first because I’ve joined some BBM group and I’ve been asking myself actually ‘do these group really give me benefit? Do they have any use at al?’. Anyway, my friend told me that this specific group will motivate members to read the bible everyday and share our knowledge and experience regarding the verses we read on each day. I thought,”why not? This could motivate me to read bible more often!”. So, I did and am still joining it now!

In addition to that – that means I’ve had 2 types of reading the bible daily. First, daily lectio divina according to catholic calendar. Second, I read the gospel according to Matthew daily based on my BBM group’s instruction- I also have bible plan which requires me to read one or some verses of the bible using one of those bible application on my blackberry. I will be completing this bible plan in one year. So it actually motivates me to read the bible everyday in one year. That’s three, right?

About a week ago, I had a discussion with my best friend Tania. We finally came up with the idea of reading the bible daily together. So starting in the first of Monday of this October, she and I read the bible twice a day. In the morning, Tania will be sending email to me the reading and reflection based on her daily bible reading plan (she is a Christian from different church and I am catholic). In the evening I send her reading according to catholic calendar.

How does it feel to read 4 bible reading plan everyday? It feels so awesomely great, superbb and wonderful!! Especially when I read it in the morning before I start doing my things. I am given more control to think right, to be more patient and to love others. God gives me strength to face the day because of His Word. When I read His Word, it is Him that speaks to me. His Word does not only strengthen me. His Word is my strength because His Word is He himself! John 1:1  In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

What is beyond my imagination is that somehow all the four reading bible plan that I do right now are interrelated! They might not be similar or parallel but they do support each other. Just to give you illustration on that. Today my BBM group read the story of Jesus praying before His arrest, how He told his disciples to stay alert and always pray and how He shows us His agony while praying to Almighty Father before His death. The catholic calendar instruct us to read Jonah and Luke today. In Jonah, we learn how loving our God is who always provide forgiveness for us. In Luke we learn how to pray to God, a prayer that teaches us to forgive others and let the will of our Father happen! In my daily bible plan with Tania, we both read the story of Adam and Eve after they disobey God’s instruction. And in my bible plan on my bible application on blackberry, I read Psalm 25:4. The Holy Spirit, that Father and Jesus sent me, has guided me to understand the meaning of all those verses I read today from my four bible reading plan! At the end of the day, I am blessed and given the gift of wisdom to understand so many beautiful things about Almighty Father, His only Son – Jesus- with the help of His Holy Spirit!
This is what I discover from my today’s four bible reading plans that God is all powerful, He know our heart, our mind, our will. But His Will is bigger, better and definitely the best. Only by surrendering our weak flesh and let His spirit work in us that will we be able to live in Him, to live obediently, lovingly, compassionately.
What a joy to discover the beauty of the Word of God. For knowing and learning His Word means encountering Him directly, face to face. And when we encounter, meet Him that will open us the door to follow and obey Him!

Psalm 1:2-3
2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD, And in His law he meditates day and night. 3 He shall be like a tree Planted by the rivers of water, That brings forth its fruit in its season, Whose leaf also shall not wither; And whatever he does shall prosper.

Leave a Reply

