The Story of How I Was Saved and So Were My Two Children


My name is Fanny Rahmasari. I am born Catholic to Catholic parents. My full name is Maria Goretti Marcellina Fanny Rahmasari. Both of my parents were born Catholic as well. I practiced Catholic just as my parents taught me, going to Sunday Mass every weekend, praying before meals, praying before going to bed and when waking up in the morning, praying novena to Saint Mary,going to confession at least once a year. My parents never forced me to join any catholic community service. In fact, i tried not to get involved in any catholic community. I had never liked any catholic charismatic renewal activities (in fact, i used to think it was ridiculous to find there was chatolic charismatic mass) until i went to a Baptism in the Spirit Retreat, held in a Carmelite Retreat Centre in West Jave, Indonesia. My spiritual life wasn’t transformed completely. It went through stages, many stumbling down, rise and fall here and there. I decided to participate in the Baptism in the Spirit Seminar in 2009, followed by Basic Christian Maturity Seminar in the same year, both held in my local parish church in West Jakarta, Indonesia. After finishing Baptism in the Spirit Seminar, i have then been coming regularly to the prayer group in the Catholic Charismatic Renewal Community in the parish where I belong. In 2010, I took Catholic Evangelization training, specially held for catholic executives living in Jakarta, Indonesia. After finishing the training, I have been actively involved in many catholic events in Jakarta held by Shekinah Catholic Charismatic Centre (part of the Archdiocese of Jakarta). Late 2010, I officially became part of the Charismatic Prayer Group Team serving in my parish and church. I have started my 3-year Bible study course in 2012 and in 2013 I take Training Course for teaching The Discipleship Seminar.

I am a single mother of two pre-teenage children. I believe my repentance journey and born-again catholic experience has brought salvation to my less than perfect little family. Just as it is written in Acts 16:31 “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved—you and your household.”I also believed that God has made everything perfect in His timing according to His will that he first saved me first from my spiritual dryness and brought me to repentance and finally showered me with new life in the Spirit and blessed me with many spiritual fruits and gifts. My two children now are also serving the church by being the altar boy and girl.

never thought i'd sing in my ministry but The Holy Spirit bless me with the gift of spirit.  This pic was taken while I led the praise and worship session with my great friends, alumni of Catholic Evangelization Training

never thought i’d sing in my ministry but The Holy Spirit bless me with the gift of spirit. This pic was taken while I led the praise and worship session with my great friends, alumni of Catholic Evangelization Training

MC at Indonesia Charismatic Catholic Renewal Movement National Convention 2012

MC at Indonesia Charismatic Catholic Renewal Movement National Convention 2012

Together with my son, Alkuin Massimiliano Galih Grisyandi, i served for the Ministry of The Devotion of Holy Mother Mary, an event of 9 day novena to St Mary and Eucharist in Jakarta held every May yearly

Together with my son, Alkuin Massimiliano Galih Grisyandi, i served for the Ministry of The Devotion of Holy Mother Mary, an event of 9 day novena to St Mary and Eucharist in Jakarta held every May yearly

Often in my ministry, I invited my catholic friends who are working in showbiz industry and are public figures themselves to be involved in our catholic community and ministry. Here I am with Novita Anggie and Jenny Tan both famous TV Presenters in Indonesia. Both are happily catholics!

Often in my ministry, I invited my catholic friends who are working in showbiz industry and are public figures themselves to be involved in our catholic community and ministry. Here I am with Novita Anggie and Jenny Tan both famous TV Presenters in Indonesia. Both are happily catholics!

with Archbishop of Jakarta, Monsignor Ignatius Suharyo and my best friend, Irene Sugiharto

with Archbishop of Jakarta, Monsignor Ignatius Suharyo and my best friend, Irene Sugiharto

my son Galih serving as altar boy during a Mass held at his school

my son Galih serving as altar boy during a Mass held at his school

with my best friends, a group of catholic women of my local church's community prayer group. Winny, Rika, me, Medi and Yuny

with my best friends, a group of catholic women of my local church’s community prayer group. Winny, Rika, me, Medi and Yuny

the blue jackets I am wearing here with my catholic sister, Fifi, mark us  as the alumni of Evangelization School of Shekinah Catholic Charismatic Centre in Jakarta.

the blue jackets I am wearing here with my catholic sister, Fifi, mark us as the alumni of Evangelization School of Shekinah Catholic Charismatic Centre in Jakarta.

Here I am with my fellow TV Presenter, hosting The Catholic Show airing on TVRI, state-run national television

Here I am with my fellow TV Presenter, hosting The Catholic Show airing on TVRI, state-run national television

my less than perfect family is totally and fully blessed! pic here, me, Galih and Langgam

my less than perfect family is totally and fully blessed! pic here, me, Galih and Langgam

One thought on “The Story of How I Was Saved and So Were My Two Children

Leave a Reply

